Bayelsa govt. constitutes 12-man committee to identify civil servants with teaching qualifications

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Bayelsa Government has constituted a 12-man committee to identify civil servants with qualifications that will enable them to teach in public schools.

A Government House statement issued in Yenagoa on Friday said the committee would be headed by the Deputy Governor, retired Rear Adm. Gboribiogha Jonah.

The state government said that it constituted the committee on Thursday during the state’s 79th executive council meeting.

According to the state government, Mr Jonathan Obuebite, the state’s Commissioner for Information and Orientation would collate civil servants’ data in furtherance of the on-going appraisal in the public service.



It stated that the aim of the exercise is to improve the standard of education in public schools.

“The move is targeted at redeploying qualified civil servants to areas where their services will be more useful, as well as addressing some of the challenges plaguing the public service.

“The council has also stressed the need for regular training and retraining of teachers at the Teachers’ Training Academy, Bulou Orua, Sagbama Local Government Area,” it added.

Members of the committee are, Head of Service, Rev. Thomas Zidafamor, Chief of Staff, Government House, Rt. Hon. Talford Ongolo, the Commissioners for Education, Local Government Administration, Mrs. Agatha Goma and that of Science and Technology and Manpower Development, Chief Ipigansi Izagara.

The other members include Special Adviser on Treasury, Accounts and Revenue, Mr. Timipre Seipulo, Director General of Education Inspectorate Bureau, Dr. Stella Ugolo, while the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education is to serve as secretary, with representatives from the state chapter of the Nigeria Labour Congress, Trade Union Congress, Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees, and Nigeria Union of Teachers.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply