2017 AFCON Qualifier: Siasia Invites Moses, Ighalo, 40 Others For Egypt

John Ogunsemore
3 Min Read

Interim Super Eagles Head Coach, Samson Siasia, on Thursday released a list of 42 players invited for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) two-legged encounter against Egypt.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the first leg of the qualifier is scheduled to take place in Kaduna on March 25, while the return-leg is billed for Alexandria, Egypt on March 9.

Siasia unveiled the list in Abuja after a meeting with Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Technical and Development Committee.

He told newsmen that the best legs were invited to ensure victory for the team in Kaduna.

The list made up of 22 home-based players and 20 foreign-based players, CHAN Eagles goal poacher Chisom Chikatara was among the invited home-based stars.

Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Olufemi Thomas and Emmanuel Daniel made the list as invited home-based goalkeepers, while Kalu Orji, Austin Oboroakpo, Chibuzor Okonkwo and Chima Akas made the defenders list for the home-based players.

Goalkeeper Karl Ikeme, defenders Efe Ambrose, Elderson Echejile, Godfrey Oboabona, Kenneth Omeruo, Stanley Amuzie and Abdullahi Shehu made the list of invited foreign-based players.

Arsenal and Manchester City wonder kids Alex Iwobi and Kelechi Iheanacho as well as Watford FC striker Odion Ighalo are part of the stars invited on the foreign based list.

West Ham United FC winger, Victor Moses got a recall to the national team after injury sidelined him from most of the team’s matches in the last two years.

The Super Eagles are currently second in their AFCON 2017 qualifying group, with four points, two points behind leaders Egypt with six points.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the players are expected to reports to the team’s camp in Abuja on March 7, while the team will move to Kaduna on March 21.

The full lists of home-based: goalkeepers are Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Olufemi Thomas and Emmanuel Daniel, while defenders are Kalu Orji, Chibuzor Okonkwo, Mathew Etim, Austin Oboroakpo, Sincere Seth, Segun Oduduwa, Chima Akas, Chris Madaki and Oke Ogogatewho.

Midfielders include Ifeanyi Mathew, Usman Mohammed, Etebo Oghenekaro, Yau Hassan, Stanley Dimgba and forwards Ezekiel Bassey, Prince Aggrey, Bright Onyedikachi, Chisom Chikatara and Godwin Obaje.

Foreign-based goalkeepers are Carl Ikeme and Daniel Akpeyi, while defenders are Efe Ambrose, Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile, Stanley Amuzie, Godfrey Oboabona and Kenneth Omeruo.

Midfielders include Ogenyi Onazi, Mikel Obi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Azubuike Okechukwu; forwards are Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Victor Moses, Aminu Umar, Odion Ighalo, Aaron Samuel, Alex Iwobi and Fanendo Adi. (NAN)

Share this Article
I'm a University of Lagos-trained journalist. I've read almost every novel written by Chinua Achebe, Jeffrey Archer and Dan Brown. I'm an expert Scrabble and draughts player who is also excellent at swimming.
Leave a comment