2019: APC NEC extends Oyegun’s tenure by one year

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Chief John Odigie-Oyegun-led National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress has been granted a 12-month tenure extension. The committee tenure is to expire in June 2018

The tenure extension was the major decision taken after a three-hour meeting of the APC National Executive Committee held at the party’s national secretariat in Abuja on Tuesday.

At the end of the nearly three-hour meeting, the Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, announced the NEC’s decision to the media.

Bello, who was flanked by the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, and some state party chairmen, said, “At the end of the National Executive Council meeting today, a major decision was taken in line with the constitution of our party. We are all aware that the tenure of the current NWC and the executive members of this party both elected and appointed comes to an end in June this year.

“Considering the time left for the party to conduct all the congresses and convention and considering that our leader, Senator Bola Tinubu, has been charged with the responsibility of reconciling all aggrieved members of our party, we cannot afford to approach the general elections with more dispute and crises.

“So, relying on Article 13 of our constitution, which empowers the NEC to carry out the function of the convention, the NEC has decided to extend the tenure of the current National Working Committee and other executive committees at various levels for another 12 months, starting from June 30th.”

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.