4 of Buhari’s Board Nominees Accepted by Senate, One Dropped


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Of the five members of the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari, the Senate have confirmed four of them and have dropped one.

The aspirants were screened by the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and Other Financial Institutions on Wednesday.

The nominees are Prof. Ummu Ahmed Jalingo (North-East), Prof. Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko (South-East), Prof. Mike Obadan (South-South), Dr. Abdu Abubakar (North-West) and Adeola Adetunji (South-West).

On the issue of the dropped nominee, Abdu Abubakar, the committee in a report stated that the reason for their decision not to confirm Abubakar was because of questions over his personal quality.

Deputy President of the Senate, Ike Ekweremadu was, however, on Abubakar’s side, pleading with the Senate to reevaluate their stance on Abubakar.

He said; “By the time they bring another report, the Senate would be better informed on the gravity or otherwise of the petitions to enable us to make an informed decision.”

Senate President Bukola Saraki, therefore, ruled that the committee review its position on Abubakar.

“A few people have actually approached me on this issue. I think that if we don’t have any objection to it, let us rule that the committee should be told to go back and look at the issue of this nominee that has been rejected. They can review it and come back,” he said.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.