Akran urges indigenes/residents to attract investments to Badagry

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Akran of Badagry, De Wheno Aholu Menu Toyi 1, has appealed to indigenes and residents to attract more investments to the coastal town to provide job opportunities for its teeming youths.

Menu Toyi made the appeal on Saturday at the maiden edition of De Wheno Award ceremony organised by the Royal Kingdom of Badagry, Lagos State.

The Badagry monarch said that the coastal town had produced successful people in all areas of life, adding that they should contribute their quota to the development of the town.

He noted that the awardees had contributed immensely towards the growth and development of the coastal town and urged them to do more.

“We want all the awardees to know that Badagry is expecting a lot from them; we need to converge and move Badagry forward. Our town needs a lot of investment now.

“Let us work together and establish industries in Badagry to deal with youth unemployment.

“I know you have been trying but I pray that you will continue to grow from strength to strength,” the Akran said.

Mr Abayomi Amosu, Chairman, De Wheno Award Organising Committee, said that the award was a motivational feedback tool for effective communication of Akran’s appreciation and expectation from the young generation.

“De Wheno Award is intended to express HRM appreciation, recognition and reward for patriots who have maintained a consistent record in private or public integrity, reasonable representation and youth empowerment.

“The nominations were sought and final selection meticulously produced through a process of intense criticism and justification.

“The award therefore epitomizes royal honor, council of chiefs’ endorsement for a unique character and a life reference of most admired personality,” he said.

One of the awardees, Fatai Bakare, Badagry-Seme Unit Commander, Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) said that he was elated and proud of the award.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that 50 eminent personalities were honoured with various awards at the ceremony.

Among the awardees were Mr Joseph Bamgbose, member of House of Representatives and Mr Babatunde Hunpe, Special Adviser to Lagos State Governor on Environment.

Others were Emmanuel Samuel, Deputy Commissioner of Police, Ibrahim Layode, member, Lagos State House of Assembly, Sunny Ajose, Lagos State APC Deputy Chairman and Adeyinka Amosu, Director, Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN). (NAN)


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.