APC Chairmanship: Tinubu, Akande, 7 APC Govs Endorse Oshiomhole

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

National chairmanship aspirant of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Adams Oshiomhole should find it easy to win the seat at the June 23 National Convention of the party.

This is following the endorsement of his candidacy by party bigwigs including National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and former Interim Chairman, Chief Bisi Akande.

The two [party chieftains endorsed Oshiomhole when they paid a courtesy visit to his campaign facility in Abuja on Tuesday.

Also on the visitation team were seven governors elected on the platform of the party: Rotimi Akeredolu SAN (Ondo), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Yahaya Bello (Kogi) and Simon Lalong (Plateau).

Others were:  Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi), Tanko Al-Makura (Nassarawa) and Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano).

Asked by reporters if his visit was an endorsement of Oshiomhole, Tinubu said, “There is no doubt. I have worked with him, why should I have any doubt? The stuff of this game (of politics) is that you win. Have you seen a democrat who is ready to lose? Just accept it, it is about choice.”

The other members of the team also declared their endorsement of the candidate.

Oshiomhole, the immediate-past Governor of Edo State, is expected to compete against another former Edo Governor, Oserheimen Osunbor and Clement Ebiri, as another aspirant, Chief Ibrahim Emokpaire withdrew from the race and declared support for Oshiomhole.



John is a University of Lagos-trained, tech-savvy journalist with an uncanny nose for news. His views are always the end products of a deliberate search for information and knowledge. He has read almost every novel written by Chinua Achebe, Jeffrey Archer and Dan Brown. He is an expert Scrabble and draughts player who is also excellent at swimming. If you know the capitals of 45 African countries by heart, then you are exactly like him.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.