APC sweeps Oyo LG poll, wins all chairmanship, councillorship seats


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The All Progressives  Congress(APC)  has won all the chairmanship seats in the 33 local government councils and the 35 Local Council Development Areas in the state.

The party also won the councillorship seats in the 610 wards in the state in the local government election  held on Saturday.

Announcing the results in Ibadan on Sunday, Mr John Ajeigbe, the Chairman of  Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC), described the election as free, fair and credible.

He commended residents of the state  for conducting themselves in an orderly manner and for complying with  rules and regulations during the exercise.

”It is  hoped that this kind of maturity exhibited before and during the conduct of the election will be sustained so that good democratic values would  be further achieved at the grassroots,’’ he said.

He  also lauded the security operatives for their support, saying this ensured safety of lives and property during the election period.

But Mr Sunday Igbinsola, the Secretary of  Accord party in the state,  described the election“  as a show of shame.’’

He said  many stakeholders within even the ruling  APC  had distanced  themselves from the exercise.

”I will simply say here that the election was a failure and the APC government will definitely return  tax payers money when it is time to answer questions, ” Igbinsola said.

The Socialist Party of Nigeria(SPN)  in the state, on its  part,   described the poll as “ stage-managed fraud.’’

According to Mr Kolapo Oladapo, the Chairman of SPN, the name and logo of his party, appeared on the ballot papers inspite of  the candidate being   denied nomination form.

”This is a monumental fraud against our party and every one that believes in open democratic process, ” Oladapo said.

NAN reports that the only female contender, Fatimoh Gildado (APC),  won the championship seat of   Orire North LCDA  with 5,787 votes.

Mr Olajuwon Alao-Akala, a son of a  former governor of Oyo State,  Adebayo Alao-Akala, also won the chairmanship  seat of Ogbomoso Local Government Council  with 9,026 votes. (NAN)

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.