Dogara congratulates Lawan, Gbajabiamila


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Mr Yakubu Dogara, immediate past Speaker of the House of Representatives, has congratulated Sen. Ahmad Lawan and Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila on their election as Senate President and Speaker  of the 9th Senate and 9th House of Representatives respectively.

Dogara also felicitated with Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege and Rep. Ahmed Idris Wase for their emergence as Deputy Senate President and Deputy Speaker.

In a statement issued by his spokesman, Turaki Hassan on Tuesday, Dogara described the emergence of the new leaders of the National Assembly as the reflection of the wishes of the majority of Senators and  Honourable Members.

Dogara, who defeated Gbajabiamila in 2015 to become speaker, prayed God for guidance for the the newly elected leaders.

The former speaker also restated his continued commitment and support toward the success of the 9th National Assembly through enthronment of democratic ideals and legislative interventions geared toward the development of the Nigerian nation.

“It is my sincere hope that the 9th  Assembly under their leadership will consolidate on the unprecedented landmark achievements of the 8th Assembly and even surpass our records.

“We ask God to give them the wisdom and strength to pilot the affairs of their respective chambers and contribute their quota in enthroning good governance in Nigeria; they  can always count on my support,” he said. (NAN)

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.