TRAVEL BAN: Donald Trump Adds Nigeria To New List


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

President Donald Trump has initiated moves to sign an executive order which will extend visa restrictions and travel ban on Nigeria alongside six other countries. According to reports, this development might be officially announced on Monday.


According to The Wall Street Journal report, the countries on the list have a “relatively higher rates of their citizens overstaying visas in the US”.


These countries include Nigeria, Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Sudan and Tanzania.


However, the report also stated that the travel ban by US President Trump and his administration may not be full visa bans “as the restriction may be limited to certain types of visas like the business or visitor visa popularly referred to as B1/B2 visa type,” TheCable reported.


There has been three previous travel ban issued since Trump resumed office.


The first included seven countries majorly made up of Muslim Countries, the second was placed in March 2017 and the third in September 2017.


Although there were moves to sabotage the travel ban issued by Trump in 2017, however, they were upheld by the supreme court.

READ ALSO: Buhari Asks United Kingdom To Hunt Down Nigerian Fugitives

It was said by the US government that travel ban was extrinsic to shun potential terrorism acts as countries on the list were known to screen travellers inadequately.


Libya, Iran, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, North Korea and Venezuelan politicians are countries currently on the US travel ban list.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.