Gana, Adeniran, Orubebe, Others Abandon PDP, Embrace SDP


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

After failure to resolve the crises generated by its National Convention, especially the acrimonious emergence of Prince Uche Secondus as National Chairman, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has lost three ministers and many others within its fold.

Ex-Minister of Information, Prof. Jerry Gana; Ex-Minister of Education, Prof Tunde Adeniran; and Ex-Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Chief Godsday Orubebe have all abandoned the PDP for the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The former ministers are founding members of the party.

The move has reportedly plunged the PDP into fresh crisis as more members are believed to be ready to abandon the party which ruled Nigeria between 1999 and 2015.

The mass exodus is believed to be ready to occur despite a high-powered reconciliation committee headed by Governor of Bayelsa, Seriake Dickson set up to reconcile aggrieved members of the party.

The former ministers subsequently held a prolonged meeting with the leadership of SDP over a possible merger in Abuja on Thursday.

The departing PDP members and the SDP leadership under former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Chief Olu Falae, subsequently signed a Memorandum of Understanding to work together ahead of the 2019 elections.

According to The Nation, joining Gana from the PDP are a former Military Administrator of Katsina State, Sen. Joseph Akaagerger; a former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Elder Peter Godsday Orubebe; Chief Mike Oghiadhome, who was a former Chief of Staff to ex-President Goodluck Jonathan; ex-Governor Saminu Turaki of Jigawa State; and ex-Minister of Defence, Dr. Olu Agunloye and a former Deputy Speaker of Ondo State House of Assembly, Hon. Dare Emiola.
Also teaming up with SDP are a former member of the House of Representatives, Dr. Junaid Mohammed; Sen. Bassey Ewa Hensaw; a member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Olamide Oni; Supo Shonibare (South-West Zonal chairman of SDP), Hon. Dipo Olaitan (a former leader of the Alliance for Democracy in the House of Representatives); a former Speaker, Oyo State House of Assembly, Kehinde Ayoola; Amb. Yemi Farounbi; leaders of the Middle Belt Forum; Mr. John Dara; the leaders of the National Intervention Forum led by Dr. Tafawa Balewa; Amb Bejide; Shehu Gabam who gave the vote of thanks.

Former Deputy Senate President, Ibrahim Mantu, and former Niger State Governor, Babangida Aliyu were said to have been part of the preliminary talks but failed to join the team to sign the MoU.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.