New York Times, CNN, ABC: Donald Trump Announces Winners of Fake News Awards


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

In a move which had been threatened for weeks, President Donald Trump has finally released his fake news awards list. Such was the anticipation for these awards that after being placed on the Republican website, it promptly crashed.

Donald Trump had long threatened that he was going to reveal the winners of “The Highly-Anticipated 2017 Fake News Awards.”

Top of the list was New York Times columnist Paul Krugman who if you would recall predicted that the economy would be hurt badly by Trump’s election.

Taking second spot was ABC’s Brian Ross, who was suspended by the network for a month after making a costly error in a story in early December about one-time national security advisor Michael Flynn.

Third place on the list went to CNN and reporter Manu Raju, who corrected an error in his reporting regarding Donald Trump Jr. and Wikileaks.

Next up was Time Magazine who early in the Trump administration made a mistake when they reported that a bust of Martin Luther King Jr. was removed from the Oval Office, it turned out that the bust was merely obscured rather than taken out. They did retract the report and apologised.

Number five on the list was a Washington Post blogger, Dave Weigel, who made a couple of statements about the size of Trump’s rallies.

The awards had earlier been delayed after Trump said “the interest in, and importance of, these awards is far greater than anyone could have anticipated.”

CNN were the biggest ‘winners’ of the night, taking 4 awards from the possible 11 which just shows the deep rift between the Presidency and the news network.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.