Obasanjo absent as Buhari names railway stations after Tinubu, Saraki, Soyinka, Others


Former President Olusegun Obasanjo’s name was conspicuously missing as President Muhammadu Buhari approved the naming of some railway stations after some “prominent Nigerians”.

The stations to be so named lie along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/ Aladja/Warri corridors.

This was disclosed by Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi through a statement signed by the Ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe on Monday.

According to the statement, the “deserving Nigerian citizens” have¬†contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

Some of those named were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Senate leader late Olusola Saraki, former Lagos State Governor Bola Tinubu and Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka.

Read Also: PDP BOT Chair Reveals Real Reason Dogara Quit Party

The full list of those honoured and the stations named after them in the Lagos-Ibadan with extension to the Lagos Port Complex at Apapa railway station:

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa station)

Brigadier-General Mobolaji Johnson (Rtd) (Ebute Metta Station),

Mr Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege station),

Alhaji Lateef Jakande (Agbado station)

Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station)

Chief Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station)

Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station)

Aremo Olusegun Osoba (Olodo station)

Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station)

Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station)

Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre)

The full list of those named for the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway:

Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station)

Dr Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta station)

Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station)

Major General George Innih (Rtd) (Agenebode station)

Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station)

Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station)

Brigadier General Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (Rtd) (Igbanke station)

Others were:

Former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex)

Major General David Ejoor (Rtd) (Abraka station)

Olorogun Micheal Ibru (Opara station)

Chief Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station)

Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Rtd) (Railway Village, Agbor).

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.