Osun: Adeleke dethrones Akirun, 2 other monarchs appointed by Oyetola


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Governor of Osun State, Senator Ademola Adeleke, has dethroned Akirun of Ikirun, Oba Yinusa Akadiri, Aree of Iree, Oba Ademola Oluponle, and Owa of Igbajo, Oba Adegboyega Famoodun.

The immediate-past Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola, crowned the dethroned monarchs weeks before leaving office.

Recall that Oyetola had vowed to review appointments made by Oyetola from July 17.

In his inaugural speech on Sunday, Adeleke claimed that all the last-minute appointments carried out by the immediate past administration were done so as to make “things difficult” for him.

In a statement on Monday through his Chief Press Secretary, Olawale Rasheed, the governor said that the thrones of Akirun of Akirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo remain unoccupied pending the outcome of a Committee of Inquiry to review their appointments and subsequent installations.

Recall that Famoodun before his appointment as Owa of Igbajo was the Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun State.

The statement further said that the six Executive Orders issued by the governor bordering on reversal of monarchs’ appointments, appointment and placement of civil servants, employment and freezing of government accounts have been signed this morning and take immediate effect.

“All appointments of traditional rulers made by Osun State Government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declarations and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies. In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are hereby put on hold pending review. Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.

“All employments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions , Boards and Parastatals after July 17th, 2022 be and are hereby nullified,” the statement read in part.

Similarly, Governor Adeleke ordered the reversal of appointments into civil service and directed heads of government agencies to embark on staff audit immediately.

“All Heads of Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals of Osun State Government are hereby directed to carry out an immediate staff audit of the actual number of government workers in their various Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals, as at 17th July, 2022, and should file a report to the Office of the Chief of Staff to the Governor stating the full details and position/designation of each of the staff on the forwarded list , within 7 working days from the date of this Executive order using the attached Oath of Fidelity Template.

“All appointments in the service of Osun State Government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies, Commissions, Boards and Parastatals after 17th July, 2022 be and are hereby reversed,” the statement further read.

The governor further suspended the Chairman of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC), Mr. Segun Oladitan and the following members of the Commission; Mr. Yusuf Oyeniran, Alhaja Suibat Adubi, Prince Yinka Ajiboye, Mrs. Abosede Omibeku, Mr. Dosu Gidigbi and Mr. Wahab Adewoyin for alleged financial impropriety, dereliction of duty, absenteeism and abuse of office.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.