UAE Lifts Flights Ban On Nigeria, 10 Others


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Five months after, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) has lifted flight ban on Nigerian travellers with effect from Thursday, August 5.

Emirates announced on its website that the UAE authorities have announced that effective 5 August 2021, eligible travellers from Nigeria and 10 other countries will be allowed to travel to/through the UAE.

Read Also: Court Orders EFCC To Unfreeze Dokpesi’s N2.1B Bank Account, Release Seized Documents

The countries are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Uganda, Vietnam, South Africa, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Bangladesh and Nepal.

Emirates on short notice said, “We will publish details of the latest protocols and requirements on our travel requirements page, as soon as these are available.”

Since March this year, scheduled flights between Nigeria and the UAE have been stopped following a diplomatic row over Covid-19 protocols.

While the Federal Government stipulates negative PCR test as a requirement for travellers to Dubai, the UAE further imposed rapid antigen test as another condition for visitors to Dubai; the development which the Nigerian government rejected and on the basis of which banned the UAE flag carrier, Emirates, from coming to Nigeria.

Though the ban was lifted, Emirates, on the instruction of the UAE government suspended flights to Nigeria.

The Lagos-Dubai and Abuja-Dubai routes are some of the most lucrative routes for airlines. Also, travel agencies make fortunes from ticket sales on the routes.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.