Vladimir Putin Signs Law Enabling Him To Stay In Power Until 2036


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed into law a controversial bill that allows him to potentially remain in power until 2036.

The bill, which was recently approved by the lower and upper chambers of parliament, aligns the election laws with constitutional changes approved by voters last year.

One of the constitutional changes resets Putin’s term-limit clock to zero, allowing him to seek reelection when his current term expires in 2024, and again in 2030 if he wishes.

Under the current election laws, a president is forbidden from seeking a third consecutive six-year term. Putin is currently in his second consecutive six-year term.

The constitutional amendments were initiated in January 2020 by the 68-year-old Russian leader, who has been running the country as prime minister or president since late 1999.

Read also: Dominion Voting Files $1.6b Lawsuit Against Fox News Over False Election Fraud Claims

Former President Dmitry Medvedev, who served in 2008-2012 when Putin was constitutionally mandated to step down after his first two consecutive terms, is also granted the right to run two more times.

Putin has previously said he hasn’t yet decided whether to run for president again, saying 2024 is still far off.

According to the results of a poll by the independent Levada Center last month, 41 percent of Russians do not want Putin to stay in power after his current term expires in 2024.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.