We’ll Not Accept APC’s Choice Of Gbajabiamila As Speaker – Arewa Youths


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

A Northern group, Arewa Youth Awareness Forum (AYAF), has slammed the All Progressives Congress (APC) for endorsing Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila for the position of Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The group accused the party of working against collective Northern interest ahead of the 2023 general election.

AYAF made its stance known in a Saturday statement issued in Abuja.

In the statement signed by its  Chairman, Mohammed Sani-Kabir, Vice-Chairman, Salisu Abdurrahaman, and Secretary-General, Ben Alege, the group accused the APC leadership of foisting Gbajabiamila on the House without giving elected members a say in who becomes their leader.

AYAF identified National Leader of APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole as those behind the plot to foist Gbajabiamila on the House against the overall interest of the North.

Read Also: Let Southwest Have Presidency In 2023; Southeast Is Not Ready – Buhari’s Friend

The group claimed that leadership positions in the yet-to-be inaugurated 9th National Assembly were already being shared in Tinubu’s house at Bourdillon Road, Ikoyi, Lagos, and called on leaders of Northern extraction to thwart the alleged imposition of Gbajabiamila.

The statement read, “We are alarmed by the dictatorial and insensitive plot by the APC leadership to foist leadership on the two chambers of the National Assembly.

“We are also concerned by the fact that northern interests are being compromised with great implication for the future of the region.

“We also urged lawmakers of northern extractions to resist any attempt by the party leadership to use them against the overall interest of the north.

“It is sad to hear that House and Senate Committees positions are already being shared at Bourdillon.

“It is risky for President Buhari, the North and the entire federation for one man to be in control of the Vice President, ruling party chairman, Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives.”

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.