ACN Names Merger Management Team

4 Min Read

The Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) has announced the appointment of a 19-member committee, which it has mandated to negotiate its planned merger with the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and the All Nigeria Peoples’ Party (ANPP).

A statement issued yesterday by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said the committee would be chaired by Chief Tom Ikimi and would have Aremo Olusegun Osoba, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, governors Babatunde Fashola and Rauf Aregbesola, Sen. John Akpanudoedehe, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyawu, Sen. George Akume and Hon.Abike Dabiri-Erewa as members.

Other members are Sen. Lawal Shuaibu, Chief Audu Ogbe, Chief Achike Udenwa, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Sen. Chris Ngige, Dr. Usman Bugaje, Hajiya Rabiat Eshak, Dr. Ibrahim Y. Lame, Alhaji Yusuf Ali and Alhaji Lai Mohammed.

The ACN said the appointment of the committee is an indication of its total commitment to making the merger a reality, adding that there is no going back in the party’s determination to work with the CPC and the ANPP to rescue and salvage Nigeria.

It also congratulated the leadership of the CPC and the ANPP, which have already named their own merger committees, on their patriotism and called on all Nigerians to support the planned merger.

‘’This is not about the ACN, CPC or ANPP but about our country Nigeria, which is tottering on the edge of disaster due mainly to the lack of leadership and failure of governance by the ruling PDP since 1999. The merger of the three parties is like a ‘Noah’s Ark’ which all Nigerians who are tired of the endless drift of our country must enter into,” the statement said.

It also said that the merger was not about winning power at the centre at all costs, but about putting Nigeria and Nigerians above everything else.

‘’We will also like to inform Nigerians that contrary to what the doubters and spoilers are saying, the three parties are going into the merger plans unconditionally and without a set mind over posts or anything else. The only issue that has been settled is the urgent need to rescue and salvage our country. In this regard, the opposition knows it has a date with history!’’

The members of the CPC merger team are Alhaji Garba Gadi as Chairman, and Prof. Tam David-West, Governor Tanko al-Makura, Alhaji Sabo Nanono, Senator Hadi Sirika, Chief Okoi Obono Obla, Owelle Oscar Udoji, Engr. Ife Oyedele, Osita Okechukwu, Mrs Lucy Ajayi, Air Commodore Bernard Banfa (rtd), Engr. B.D. Lawal, Dr Haruna Yerima, Mr James Ocholi (SAN), Alhaji Adebayo Shittu, Prof Buba Bajoga and Dr Osagie Ehanire as members.

Meanwhile, the ANPP negotiating team is headed by former Kano State governor, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau and has Chief George Moghalu, Senator Sani Yerima and Hon Suleiman Kawu as members.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.