Akpabio elected Senate President

1 Min Read

The senator representing Akwa Ibom North-West, Senator Godswill Akpabio has been elected President of the 10th Senate.

Akpabio defeated the senator representing Zamfara West, Senator Abdulaziz Yari, to clinch the top legislative seat.

Akpabio, who is the preferred candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), secured 63 votes to defeat Yari, who got 46.

The senator representing Kano South, Senator Jibrin Barau was also elected Deputy Senate President.

The election was held amid mild protests on the floor of the Upper Chamber for Yari not to run, being a first-time senator.

Earlier scheduled for 10 am, the election commenced at 9 am.

After the Clerk of the National Assembly called for nominations, the senator for Borno South, Senator Ali Ndume, nominated Akpabio as Senate President and Akpabio accepted the nomination.

Similarly, the senator for Adamawa North, Elisha Abbo nominated Yari and the Zamfara West senator accepted the nomination.

Share this Article
John is a University of Lagos-trained journalist who has read almost every novel written by Chinua Achebe, Jeffrey Archer and Dan Brown. He's an expert Scrabble and draughts player who is also excellent at swimming.
Leave a comment