Zamfara INEC office raided, recovers N65m from fireproof safes

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC Sokoto which launched an operation at the Independence National Electoral Commission, INEC, in Zamfara, recovered a sum of N65, 548, 000 million.

The said sum was recovered from two fireproof safes during a raid at the offices of the head of accounts and cashier of INEC in the state.

The raid took place after a petition was written by an ad hoc staff of INEC. The petitioner alleged that the officials of INEC had deducted part of the allowance which was allocated to the adhoc staffs for the 2019 elections.

According to the complainant, while INEC in Zamfara allegedly paid its ad hoc staff the sum of N9,000, others in states like Sokoto were paid N12,000.

The recovered fund is suspected be part of the funds illegally deducted from releases meant to cater for the movement of materials and electoral officials as well as the provision of chairs, tables and canopies for the 2019 governorship and presidential elections in the state

Recall that the Herald had reported that the EFCC had arrested four officials of INEC in the state. The officials, Hassan Sidi Aliyu,  Administrative Secretary, Hussain Jafar Head of Operations, Abdullahi Yusuf Abubakar, State Accountant and the Cashier Labaran Ishaka, were picked for alleged conspiracy, breach of trust and criminal diversion of Ad hoc staff allowance to the tune of N84, 696,000 (Eighty Four Million, Six Hundred and Ninety Six Thousand Naira).

READ ALSO: Buhari to marry 2nd Wife: Hajia Farouq stole his heart with Sweet Food and body Massage

Investigations by the EFCC  revealed that none of the 10,500 presiding officers who participated in the elections was paid their entitlements commutatively put at N84, 696,000 (Eighty-Four Million, Six Hundred and Ninety-Six Thousand Naira).

The 14 Electoral Officers of the state were also arrested. They are: Abdullahi Sambawa, Zurmi LGA; Aliyu Jafaru Goronyo,  Maradun LGA;  Balarabe Ahmed S Gobir, Gummi LGA; Amadu Ibrahim, Gusau LGA; Mohammed Bashir Musa, Kaura Namoda LGA; Dalhatu Usman Musa,Birnin Magaji LGA; Abdulmumin Usman, Maru LGA; Muhammad Nasir Saidu, Talatu Mafara LGA; Abdullahi A. Ukashatu, Tsafe LGA; Tukur Garba Kaita, Bungudu LGA; Salihu Musa Abdullahi, Bukuyun LGA;  Sadiq Abdullahi, Fari Anka LGA; Lawali Muhammed, Argungu Bakura LGA; Jafaru Gide, Shinkafi LGA; Tanimu Muhammad, Shinkafi LGA; and  Hassan Abdullahi,Shinkafi LGA.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.