Group wants FG to compensate families of Nimbo community massacre

3 Min Read

Global Igbo Alliance (GIA), a non-profit organization, has called on the Federal Government to pay compensation to the victims of Nimbo Community in Enugu State fatally attacked by suspected Fulani herdsmen.

It said that since the attack on the community in April 2016, perpetrators of the crime have not been arrested and nothing had been done to assist the victims.

The group expressed disappointment with the non-payment of compensation to the families of those who lost their lives during the attack.

“ We urge the Federal Government to liaise with the families of the victims of Nimbo Uzo-Uwani massacre for fair and appropriate compensations.

“We regret that none of the perpetrators of this heinous crime has been apprehended or prosecuted by the relevant authorities,’’ the group said in a statement emailed to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

The statement was signed by Dr Christian Duru, the President and Mrs Chinwe Eboh, the Secretary.

GIA, based in Australia, has affiliates in U.S., UK, Japan, New Zealand and South Africa among other countries.

The group said that it supported calls for the restructuring of the country and respect for the rights to self-determination or regional autonomy.

The group also called for an Independent Judicial Commission of Inquiry into allegations of torture, kidnappings and other acts allegedly committed by the military during operation Python Dance in Abia.

NAN also reports that 17 governors from the Southern States of Nigeria had on Oct. 23 at a meeting in Lagos unanimously reiterated the call for true federalism and devolution of powers to states.

The governors, in a communique at the end of the meeting read by the host Governor, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State, also resolved to collaborate with one another for the growth and development of their economies.

Attendees are Ambode, Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun); Abiola Ajimobi (Oyo); Rauf Aregbesola (Osun), David Umahi (Ebonyi); Godwin Obaseki (Edo); Oluwarotimi Akeredolu (Ondo); Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia); Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu); Seriaki Dickson (Bayelsa) and Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti).

Others are governors of Cross River, Anambra and Delta, who were represented by their Deputies – Mr. Evara Esu; Dr. Ikem Okeke and Mr. Kingsley Otuaru respectively.

Also, Afenifere, Ijaw National Congress, and Ohanaeze Ndigbo had supported calls for the country’s restructuring.

Information Minister Lai Mohammed had said that the Federal Government had commenced the process of restructuring the country.

He said: “For the Federal Government, restructuring means devolution of power. Restructuring means for the Federal Government, a system whereby government’s policies and programmes can reach everybody at the grassroots.

“For us, restructuring means ability that will allow you to deliver and in our own way, we have started. ’’ (NAN)

TAGGED: , , ,
Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.