Impeachment: Principal officers of Taraba State House of Assembly Sacked


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Speaker, Taraba State House of Assembly, Rt. Honorable Istifanus Gbana; his deputy, Peter Abel Diah and the Majority Leader, Charles Maijankai have been impeached.

The motion for their impeachment was moved by the member representing Lau Constituency, Joseph Albasu and seconded by member representing Gembu Constituency, Dr Abubakar Jugulde under matters of urgent public importance.

Albasu accused the former speaker, Honourable Gbana of failure to lead and forward a list of allegation leveled against him during today’s sitting.

The allegations leveled against the former speaker included gross misconduct, divide and rule system of administration and unruly behaviour leading to the loss of confidence in the House by the people of the state.

He also said the former speaker failed in his responsibility to hold meetings, and was instead using only four members to pilot the affairs of the house, thereby reducing the standard of the House to a personal estate.

After presenting the allegation which was presided over by the speaker pro tempo, Honourable John Bonzena the members were requested to confirm their signatories.

The seventeen members who were at the sitting affirmed their signatures to pave way for the removal of the speaker, his deputy, Peter Abel Diah and the majority leader, Honourable Charles Maijankai.

Meanwhile, Haruna Tsokwa, member representing Takum 1 constituency has been elected new speaker.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.