JUST IN: Lawan Emerges Senate President

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The senator representing Yobe North senatorial district, Sen. Ahmed Lawan, has been elected Senate President in the Ninth National Assembly.

Lawan, the Majority Leader in the 8th Senate, secured 79 votes to beat Sen. Ali Ndume (APC – Borno South), who secured 28 votes.

Senators were jubilant after Lawan’s declaration by Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Omolori at Tuesday’s inaugural proceeding.

Omolori proceeded to swear-in Lawan.

Details later…

Read Also: Buhari, APC pray tribunal to strike out suit filed by Atiku


John is a University of Lagos-trained journalist. His views are always the end products of a deliberate search for information and knowledge. He has read almost every novel written by Chinua Achebe, Jeffrey Archer and Dan Brown. He is an expert Scrabble and draughts player who is also excellent at swimming. If you know the capitals of 45 African countries by heart, then you are exactly like him.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.