Manchester City win 2023 EPL title after Taiwo Awoniyi-inspired Arsenal loss

1 Min Read

Pep Guardiola-inspired Manchester City have claimed the 2023 English Premier League title after rival, Arsenal’s loss to Nottingham Forest on Saturday.

Arsenal’s 1-0 loss to Forest courtesy of a 19th-minute Taiwo Awoniyi strike ensured that the North London club capitulated to Manchester City in the race for the EPL title.

It was manager Mike Arteta’s second consecutive loss with Arsenal in the cut-throat EPL title race.

Guardiola’s side thus sit at the zenith of the EPL with 85 points after 35 games, compared to Arsenal’s 81 points after 37 games.

Manchester City’s push for the treble also got boosted ahead of an FA Cup final clash with city rivals Manchester United and the UEFA Champions League final battle with Italian side, Inter Milan.

Awoniyi’s lone strike also ensured that Forest escaped relegation in their first season back in English football’s top flight for 23 years.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.