Not Again! FIFA Releases 3-Man Shortlist For Best Player, Lionel Messi Excluded

2 Min Read

According to Spanish outlet Diario Sport, Lionel Messi has yet again been left off the podium for another award ceremony, this time, FIFA’s The Best.

And to most, it is quite unfathomable how the Barcelona forward is not in the final three for the world football governing body’s prestigious annual prize.

Portugal ace, Cristiano Ronaldo, World Cup finalist, Luka Modric and Egyptian king, Mo Salah are the three finalists.

The trio sit atop a shortlist of 10, which did include Messi, along with De Bruyne, Varane, Salah, Hazard, Kane and Mbappe. The official shortlist will be announced by FIFA on Monday.

Last Thursday, at the Champions League draw, Modric, who many tout to be the next FIFA the best winner, was named as the best player in Europe for last season.

Real Madrid also dominated the positional prizes at the event: Keylor Navas (goalkeeper), Sergio Ramos (defender), Modric (midfielder) and Ronaldo (forward), now at Juventus but chosen for his exploits with Madrid.

FIFA the best, created 3 years ago, has had Messi finishingsecond in the two previous editions, always behind Ronaldo.
Neymar was third in 2016 and Griezmann in 2017.

The winner will be named on September 24 at the annual FIFA gala in London. The prizes are voted for by players, coaches journalists and fans through the Internet.

Read also :

Buhari’s Reelection Will Stop Saraki’s Nonsense

Share this Article
By Leo
Eze Nnamdi Emmanuel (Leo) is an industrious and graciously amiable young man with a fervor for the unakin worlds of literature and programming. Blessed with wits and humour, he is a joy to all who come across him.
Leave a comment