NUJ Constitutes Five Man Electoral Committee in Yobe



The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Yobe State Council, on Saturday constituted a five-man electoral committee to conduct its forthcoming elections scheduled for Nov. 30.

Announcement of the constitution of the committee is contained in a statement signed by the Assistant Secretary of the council, Hajiya Aishatu Tijjani, in Damaturu.

She said the committee was constituted during a meeting of the State Executive Council (SEC) held on Saturday, and chaired by the outgoing Chairman of the council, Alhaji Yusuf Isa.

READ ALSO: NCC Arraigns 7 Suspected Notorious Pirates

Tijjani said the committee would be chaired by Hauwa Nafuta of Yobe Television, while Ahmed Abba of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) would serve as secretary.

The scribe said other members of the committee are Ibrahim Saleh, Information Chapel; Baba Adamu, Nigeria Television Authority and Ali Yawale of Yobe Broadcasting Corporation.

She said Isa, also the Ag General Manager, Yobe Television, directed the committee to conduct the election within six weeks as required by the NUJ constitution.

Tijjani said the committee would be inaugurated on Monday, October 19.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.