PDP, APGA Suffer Big Loss As Over 1000 Members Defect To Nasarawa APC


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

More than 1,000 members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and

other political parties have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Wakama ward of Nasarawa State.

SEE ALSO: Nollywood Actress Dayo Amusa Admits She Enjoys Good Sex

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the defectors included former elected councilors as well as PDP

ward chairmen and secretaries.

Receiving the defectors at a formal ceremony on Sunday at Wakama, the state APC Treasurer, Mr. Mohammed Aya,

said the party was encouraged with their decision to join the ruling party.

The treasurer who represented Mr. Philip Shakwo, the APC State Chairman, assured the newcomers that they have

equal rights and privileges like the old members.

He, therefore, assured that the government would site projects that would impact the lives of the people of the

community to justify the action of the defectors.

Similarly, Mr. Silas Agara, the immediate past deputy governor of the state, said that now that the people of the

community decided to join the party in government, more development would come to the area.

He noted that it is only the government that is capable of bringing development hence the need for them to join the

government if they are in politics for development.

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Mr. Bala John, said they have decided to join APC due to the developmental

stride of the party at both state and national levels.

He expressed gratitude to President Muhammadu Buhari for constructing the road in the community.

“Wakama community is the only community in the state that the federal government is currently constructing over

6kms of road.

He, therefore, pledged their unalloyed support to the APC government at all levels and appealed to them to site more

development projects in the area.

The occasion was attended by members of the state House of Assembly, Chairmen of local government councils and

other stakeholders.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.