Prof. Attahiru Jega Named As AIG’s First Visiting Fellow Of Practice

3 Min Read

Professor Attahiru Muhammadu Jega has been named the first AIG Visiting Fellow of Practice by the Africa Initiative for Governance (AIG) at the University of Oxford’s Blavatnik School of Government.

According to their website, the AIG entered into a partnership with the Blavatnik School based on the shared purpose of building good governance and public leadership in Africa.

The AIG believes that the high-calibre individuals trained at the school will drive best practice standards of governance across Africa, ensuring sustainable economic growth and social justice.

Commenting on the announcement, Mr. Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede, Founder and Chairman, Africa Initiative for Governance stated,

“Our unanimous choice of Professor Jega is based on our award criteria which require AIG Fellows to demonstrate evidence of outstanding contribution to the public good, through exemplary leadership in public service.”

He further commented that, “Professor Jega clearly exhibits these qualities; as Executive Chairman of Nigeria’s Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), he presided over the 2011 and 2015 general elections that were characterized by openness and integrity. The successful outcome of Nigeria’s 2015 presidential elections has elevated democratic standards in Africa to new heights.”

Jega who is currently a Professor in the Department of Political Science, Bayero University, Kano on accepting the invitation from AIG, stated:

“It is an honor and a privilege to be the first AIG Visiting Fellow at BSG. I fully subscribe to your shared purpose of building good governance and public leadership in Africa and I believe that your partnership is a commendable initiative.”

The panel of Advisors on AIG provide strategic direction and leadership in the selection of AIG Scholars and Fellows, and fosters the long-term sustainability of the AIG initiatives. This panel is chaired by the former President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Cheif Olusegun Obasanjo.

In addition to the Fellowship, the AIG has three other schemes: AIG scholarships for a Master of Public Policy (MPP) at the Blavatnik School of Governance; the AIG Index, an independent annual statistical assessment of public sector performance in Nigeria and AIG Public Sector Award for high performers in the public sector.

Share this Article