Tinubu loses Lagos to Obi

1 Min Read

The strongman of Lagos politics, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, has lost the presidential election in the state to Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP).

The outcome was based on the collation of results at the Independent National Electoral Commission Lagos State Collation Centre in Yaba.

Obi got 582,354 votes to defeat Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who got 572,606 votes.

Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) got 75,750 votes, Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) had 8,442 votes and Adewole Adebayo of Social Democratic Party (SDP) 772.

The Labour Party candidate won in nine local governments, namely Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Amuwo-Odofin, Eti-Osa, Ikeja, Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Ojo and Alimosho.

Tinubu however won in Agege, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Ifako-Ijaiye, Ikorodu, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, and Surulere.

Meanwhile number of registered voters in the state was put at 6,942,885; accredited voters 1,347,152, valid votes 1,271,451; rejected votes: 64,278, and total votes cast 1,335,729.

Share this Article
John is a University of Lagos-trained journalist who has read almost every novel written by Chinua Achebe, Jeffrey Archer and Dan Brown. He's an expert Scrabble and draughts player who is also excellent at swimming.
Leave a comment