World Cup 2018 Awards

1 Min Read

Following in the footsteps past winners like Lionel Messi, Diego Forlan, Zinadin Zidane, Luca Modric has been named as the best player of this summer’s World Cup after the Croatia star picked up the Golden Ball award.

The Real Madrid midfielder ended up on the losing side in Sunday’s final as France won 4-2.

Luca Modric
A hug of recognition from FIFA president to Luca Modric

But he was recognised for his contribution to his side’s run to the showpiece which included knockout victories over Denmark, Russia and England, as well as some timely goals and assists.

Belgium’s Eden Hazard was second and Antoine Griezmann, who lifted the World Cup trophy, was in third place.

England’s Harry Kane won the Golden Boot award after finishing as the tournament’s top scorer with six goals, despite Gareth Southgate’s side’s semi-final defeat by Croatia.

Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois picked up the Golden Glove award as the tournament’s best goalkeeper while Spain won the Fair Play trophy having gone out at the last-16 stage.

And Mbappe, who scored in the final, won the award for the best young player of the tournament

Share this Article
By Leo
Eze Nnamdi Emmanuel (Leo) is an industrious and graciously amiable young man with a fervor for the unakin worlds of literature and programming. Blessed with wits and humour, he is a joy to all who come across him.
Leave a comment