Court jails 33 internet fraudsters in Oyo, Ogun

4 Min Read

Three-three internet fraudsters have been convicted and sentenced to various jail terms in Oyo and Ogun states.

In a Monday statement, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) said that its Ibadan Zonal Command prosecuted the convicts.

They convicts are Amos Temitope Taiwo, Fatai Habeeb Mayowa, Lateef Aremu, Abiona Itunuoluwa Solomon, Olamijulo Abiodun Kayode, Abulele Endurance Ogbemudia, Owolade Shamsudeen Ayoola, Odesanya Micheal Adedimeji, Oyedele Isreal Sunday, John Timileyin Olasupo, Toriola Yusuf Alabi, Nafiu Wariz Ayomide, Adewale Adeyemi Fasasi Mumeen, Azeez Faruk Olanrewaju, Olamilekan Samuel Olonitola, Okeke Hycent Obinna, Quzeem Opeyemi Tajudeen, Theophilus Iroboudu Onoapor and Olanrewaju Muhammed Opeyemi.

May be an image of 7 people and text

Others are Oladokun Abeeb Olaide, Precious Akinwale Balogun, Adebari Sodiq Wemimo, Ogunleye Ridwan Babatunde, Akinrinola Emmanuel Pelumi, Odigwe Victory Okwise, Seyitan David Ojo, Oyinwola Micheal Olakunle, Adewale Ibrahim Adegoke, Odunton Durojaiye Oluwaseyi, Opaleye Ramadan Olanrewaju, Tolulope Adedoyin Asekoni, Oyewole Gideon David and Asogbon Emmanuel Tobiloba.

The EFCC said the convicts were jailed by Justices Ladiran Akintola, Adebukola Olajide and M.O. Ishola of the Oyo State High Court, Ibadan; Justice B.B. Adebowale of the Ogun State High Court sitting in Abeokuta and Justice Uche Agomoh of the Federal High Court, Ibadan, Oyo State.

They were arraigned on one-count separate charges bordering on cyber crimes.

May be an image of 5 people and text

The lone-count separate charge reads: “That you, Opaleye Ramadan Olanrewaju ‘M’ on or about 4th February, 2020, at Ibadan, within the jurisdiction of this Honourable Court, with intent to defraud one Micheal via your instagram account Catherine falsely represented yourself as Catherine a white woman from the United States of America which representation you knew to be false, thereby committed the offence of Personation contrary to Section 484 of the Criminal Code Law Cap 38, Laws of Oyo State, 2000.”

They all pleaded “guilty” to the charge when it was read to them, the EFCC said.

Consequently, prosecution counsels tendered facts of the cases and indicting documents before the courts.

They also prayed the courts to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.

The justices, having listened to the prayers of both parties, convicted and sentenced the defendants accordingly.

Taiwo was sentenced to 18 months imprisonment, Olasupo and Babatunde to one year jail term each. Also, Aremu, Solomon, Adedimeji, Sunday, Alabi, Ayomide, Mumeen, Olanrewaju, Olonitola, Obinna, Tajudeen, Onoapor, Opeyemi, Wemimo, Pelumi, Okwise, Olakunle, Adegoke, Oluwaseyi, Olanrewaju, Asekoni, David and Tobiloba bagged six months community service each.

Furthermore, Mayowa was sentenced to eight months community service while Kayode, Ogbemudia, Olaide, Balogun and Ojo bagged three months community service each and Ayoola to two months community service.

The courts ordered that the convicts restitute their various victims, and forfeit all items recovered from them  to the Federal Government of Nigeria including eight exotic vehicles.

May be an image of 6 people and text

The EFCC said all the 33 convicts started their journey to the correctional centre when they were arrested in various locations in Oyo and Ogun states by operatives of the EFCC.

“Further investigations showed that they were involved in different cases of internet-related crimes.

“They were subsequently charged to court and convicted,” the commission said

May be an image of 5 people and textMay be an image of 2 people and text

Share this Article
John is a University of Lagos-trained journalist who has read almost every novel written by Chinua Achebe, Jeffrey Archer and Dan Brown. He's an expert Scrabble and draughts player who is also excellent at swimming.
Leave a comment