Lagos Assembly Replaces Sacked Principal Officers

2 Min Read

The Lagos State House of Assembly has named Mr Noheem Adams and Mrs Mojisola Miranda as new Deputy Majority Leader and Chief Whip of the House, respectively.

SEE ALSO: Nimrod optimistic of Nigeria’s participation in beach volleyball at Tokyo 2020 Olympics

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the duo replaced Olumuyiwa Jimoh and Rotimi Abiru who were sacked as Deputy Majority Leader and  Chief Whip through a voice vote at plenary on Monday.

The Speaker, Mr Mudashiru Obasa, said in a statement that members after the plenary session on Monday unanimously elected Adams (Eti—Osa Constituency I) as the new Deputy Majority Leader and Miranda (Apapa Constituency I) as the new Chief Whip.

The speaker noted that before their election, Adams was the Chairman, House Committee on Public Private Partnerships, while Miranda was the Chairman, House Committee on Job Creation.

NAN reports that the House on Monday also suspended two other lawmakers, Mr Moshood Oshun (Mainland Constituency II) and his colleague, Mr Raheem Adewale (Ibeju Lekki Constituency II).

They were suspended indefinitely for alleged gross misconduct and other infractions said to be against the rules guiding the House and its operations.

“It is on this notes that I invoke Orders 68, 71, (4)(a)(b)(11) and (111) of the Rules and Standing Order of the House in respect of gross misconduct and insubordination, actions that can destabilise the House,” he said on Monday during plenary.

Share this Article
Leave a comment