Nigeria, Others Absent From List Of Travelers Permitted To Enter Europe


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

According to reports, Nigeria and America have been excluded from the list of travelers permitted to enter Europe from July 1st.

Ahead of the planned reopening of its borders to international travelers, the European Union Commission has released a list of 54 countries that qualify for travels into Europe.

The commission said that citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia would only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the epidemiological situation in these countries improves.

The countries from which travellers are permitted to enter Europe are listed as Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Australia, Bahamas, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Canada.

Read also: COVID-19: Why I imposed travel restrictions— Trump

More countries on the list are China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Dominica, Egypt, Ethiopia, Georgia, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Lebanon and Mauritius.

Others include Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Paraguay, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Serbia, South Korea, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam and Zambia.

Speaking on the development, Eric Manner, the EU Commission spokesman, said the union had the right to choose who would enter its borders. He added that it was based on health criteria.

He said: “The European Union has an internal process to determine from which countries it would be safe to accept travellers”


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.