Ogun: Amosun’s candidate, Adebutu sign agreement on how to share power, contracts

3 Min Read

Ahead of Saturday’s governorship election in Ogun state, the governorship candidate of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Adekunle Akinlade, and Ladi Adebutu, a member of House of Representatives who lost the governorship ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), have agreed on how to share power and split contracts in the new government.

The agreement is contained in a document seen by TheCable, and clearly stipulates who will get what if Akilade wins the election with help from Adebutu’s camp.

Akinlade, who enjoys the support of Ibikunle Amosun, governor of the state, decamped to APM after losing the All Progressives Congress (APC) ticket to Dapo Abiodun. On his part, Adebutu lost the PDP ticket to Buruji Kashamu.

The agreement is to be valid for a period of three years from the March 7 date when it was signed.

“The parties hereby agree to work together and support to ensure the victory of Hon. Akinlade at the March 09, 2019 Governorship election in Ogun State,” the document read.

“That Senator Amosun and Hon. Akinlade hereby agree and Ladi Adebutu concur to the following allocation of positions in Government and immediate attention to the infrastructure projects as listed herewith:

“Commissioners (2), Senior Special Assistants (3), Special Advisers (2), Special Assistants (5), Chairman — SUBEB or Local Government Service Commission, DG-Lands or OPIC Chairman.”

Read also: NAPTIP operatives arrest Abuja engineer for raping, impregnating teenage housemaid

Also contained in the document is the award of contracts for “100 kilometres of community roads per federal constituency per annum, Ilisan-Ago Iwoye road, Iperu/Ilisan cargo airport (reactivation), OKFTZ, 5 mini-water works including reticulations per federal constituency, Sagamu-Ogijo-Ikorodu dualisation, Ijebu Ode-Ejinrin dualisation and Oba Erinwole By-Pass Sagamu.”

Adebutu-led group are also requesting appointments in executive director and director positions in key federal government agencies. The agencies include “MINT, FHA, FERMA, BOI, FEDERAL MORTGAGE BANK, OGUN-OSUN RIVER BASIN, NERFUND, PTDF, SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION-fCT, NIGERIA AGRICULTURAL BANK, NIGERIA RAILWAY CORPORATION, PRO-CHANCELLOR (ANY FEDERAL UNIVERSITY), DUKE, NAPIEMS.”

“The understanding is made with copious note that Sen Ibikunle Amosun and Hon Akinlade, have respectfully agreed to implement all the above-stated clauses with each assuming shared responsibilities on those projects in Ogun Central and West Districts respectfully,” the agreement read.

Share this Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.