Railway stations: List incomplete without OBJ, Atiku, Oyedepo, others – Fani-Kayode tells FG


Former Aviation Minister, Chief Femi Fani-Kayode says Monday’s list of “prominent Nigerians” that would have railway stations named after them was incomplete without former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

He stated this in a series of tweets on Tuesday in reaction to the Federal Government’s renaming of train stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe/Ajaokuta/ Aladja/Warri corridors after some “deserving Nigerians.”

Recall that the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, published the list that included former President Goodluck Jonathan, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Prof. Wole Soyinka, among others.

But in his reaction, Fani-Kayode said Obasanjo, former President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar and others deserved to be on the list.

He stated that the exclusion of Obasanjo, a vocal critic of the Muhammadu Buhari administration, was “petty and malicious”.

Fan-Kayode wrote, “I believe that the exclusion of OBJ from the list of those honored by having railway stations etc. named after them was petty, malicious, spiteful & sacrilegious.

“We must not allow politics to becloud our thinking and judgement and we must give honor to whom it is due.

“Equally sad is the fact that Umaru Yar’adua, Ameyo Adadevoh, Shehu Shagari, Tafawa Balewa, TB Joshua, David Oyedepo, Baba Adebanjo,John Nwodo, Emeka Ojukwu , Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Matthew Hassan Kukah, Baba Kessington Adebutu & others were also left out. Give honor to whom it is due!”

Read Also: Facebook Deletes Page of MFM Pastor Over COVID-19 Scam Allegations

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.