YouTube picks Joeboy, Black Sherif, others for 2022 Foundry Class


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

YouTube Music says it has picked Joeboy and Black Sherif out of 30 artists from 15 countries for this year’s Foundry Class.

YouTube Artist Partnerships Lead, Naomi Zeichner said, in a statement on Tuesday, that the class featured artistes from different genres.

Joeboy and Black Sheriff represent Nigeria and Ghana respectively at the class.

Zeichner said the programme aimed at assisting the artistes build sustainable careers on their own was created in 2015 and had so far supported 250 independent artists.

She said that Foundry artistes were recognised for their storytelling, innovative approach to music and viewed as the next generation entertainers.

“It is no small task to be an artist in 2022, working to find stability, fulfillment, and fans.

“Foundry Class celebrates the courage of independent artistes and the communities that surround them,” she said.

According to her, the 2022 Foundry Class reinforces YouTube’s commitment to supporting Sub-Saharan artistes as next generation global music stars.

She said that the programme would ensure the artistes had a successful music career.

SSA YouTube Music Lead, Addy Awofisayo said that YouTube believed that lowering the barrier to entry would unlock the opportunities for music artists to create and connect with a global audience.

Awofisayo said Foundry would assist the artistes in navigating a new increasingly digital industry to connect with fans and generate revenue.

She said that Foundry was designed for independent artists, who had a vision for their own success and to help them navigate the demands of today’s music industry.

According to her, YouTube provides partner strategy support, marketing promotion, and seed funding for content development that can be used for video creation formats.

The 15 countries represented at the Foundry Class 2022 are United States, Germany, Brazil, South Korea, Ghana, Nigeria, Mexico,  Australia,  United Kingdom, Colombia, France, Japan, India, Canada,  Netherlands. (NAN)


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.