Wike, Dickson, Okowa nominated for Niger Delta Award

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Three governors in the South South are being considered for the Niger Delta Governor of the Year Award 2017 by GbaramatuVoice Newspaper, a multi-media organisation in the region.

The governors are Nyesom Wike of Rivers, Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta and Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa.

Mr Jacob Abai, the Publisher of the newspaper, said in Lagos on Sunday that the award was to reward excellence in governance.

“The three governors were shortlisted for the award in view of their contributions to development and impacting positively on lives of the people of the Niger Delta region, particularly in infrastructure, education, health and empowerment.’’

Abai said that a committee to select the choice of the newspaper had been set up and the nomination would be announced soon.

He said that the award presentation would be part of the grand finale of the third anniversary of the GbaramatuVoice newspaper.

Abai said that presentation of the award would take place take place on Tuesday, September 11 at KFT Place in NNPC Housing Complex, Ekpan, Delta.

A lecture on “Niger Delta Beyond Oil: Searching for Sustainable Development” will be delivered by Prof. Charles Quaker Dokubo, Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta Affairs and Coordinator of the Presidential Amnesty Programme,
will be followed by the Award of Recognition/Induction into the Gbaramatu Voice Hall of Fame.

Gbaramatu Voice is a multi-media newspaper in the Niger Delta established in Effurun Sapele in 2015.

The newspaper is a public trust dedicated to the pursuit of the truth as it affects the South-South region of Nigeria and the larger society. (NAN)


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.