CP Inaugurates Task Team on Petrol, Agricultural Products Movement in Imo


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Commissioner of Police, Isaac Akinmoyede on Wednesday inaugurated the National Joint Technical Task Team on Emergency response to COVID-19 Challenges on Agricultural and Petroleum Products Movement Imo Chapter.

The Commissioner, who is the Chairman of the team, performed the inauguration at the conference hall of the Federal Ministry of Agriculture in Owerri.

The CP was represented by the Assistant Commissioner of Police, Mr Hamman Barka at the ceremony.

READ ALSO:Lawmaker Lauds Buhari Over Gambari’s Appointment

He said the team was established as a result of challenges encountered in the movement of petroleum and agricultural products into the country due to lockdown and closure of borders caused by a coronavirus.

Akinmoyede said the presidency was worried about the challenges which if not addressed, might cause much hunger in the country.

He charged members of the team to take the assignment seriously to enable the government to check food scarcity during the lockdown and closure of borders across the country.

Speaking, the Director, Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Mr Christian Iwuchukwu, said the team’s mandate was to ensure food security in the state during coronavirus pandemic period.

Iwuchukwu, who is the Secretary of the team, said the team had been inaugurated at the federal level with the Inspector-General of Police as Chairman.

He pointed out that the inauguration was a directive from the presidency that the team be replicated in all states of the federation, including the local governments.

In their different speeches, members of the team thanked the Federal Government for establishing and inaugurating the team in the state.

They said most of the agricultural and petroleum products came from outside the state which if not well handled, might hamper transportation of the items into the state which and cause hunger to the people.

Other members of the team include Chief Chris Akaraonye, Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) in Imo and Mr Ibrahim Danladi of NSCDC.

Others are Comrade Franklin Ucheghara, NURTW Chairman, Dr Vitus Enwerem, state Chairman, All Farmers Association of Nigeria (AFAN), and Comrade Gabriel Osuji, NARTO Secretary, Imo.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.